top of page

Andorra issued its currency for the first time in December 2014

According to the Monetary Agreement with the European Union of June 30, 2011, the Principalty can officially issue the Andorran euro. Indeed, since 1999 the European Union has accepted Andorra in the Eurozone and the country begins negotiations in July 2003 to be able to mint its own currency.

The monetary agreement is accepted years later and comes into force from April 1, 2012. It is not until December 2014 that they continuously issue Andorran euros.

The coins represent key symbols of Andorran culture and heritage. They all have the stars of the European Union, but they have their peculiarities.

The 2 euro coin features the country’s emblem and the county’s motto, “virtus unita fortior” (strength is in unity).

The 1 euro coin represents the Casa de la Vall, the first Andorran parliament.

The 50, 20 and 10 cent coins exhibit the church of Santa Coloma, important for its Romanesque style and historical relevance.

The 5, 2 and 1 cent coins feature an isard and a bearded vulture, which are part of the iconic fauna of the Principality.

bottom of page